Champions League winners and history: Full list of European Champions

The full history of Champions League winners from 1993 through today includes legends of the sport at their absolute peak.

For almost 70 years, ultimate supremacy over the European club soccer scene has been determined by the Champions League (or European Cup as it was once known).

Clubs who reach the top face a gauntlet of the best players and clubs the continent has to offer. And at the end of it all they get to hoist one of the most iconic trophies in sports: Old Big Ears.

Real Madrid leads all clubs with 14 European Cups in their history and they’re also the reigning champions going into the 2022-23 Champions League Final.

Who else has won the ultimate prize over the years?

Full list of Champions League winners

2022-23 TBD
2021-22 Real Madrid over Liverpool 1-0
2020-21 Chelsea over Manchester City 1-0
2019-20 Bayern Munich over Paris Saint-Germain 1-0
2018-19 Liverpool over Tottenham 2-0
2017-18 Real Madrid over Liverpool 3-1
2016-17 Real Madrid over Juventus 4-1
2015-16 Real Madrid over Atlético Madrid 1-1 (5–3 pens)
2014-15 Barcelona over Juventus 3-1
2013-14 Real Madrid over Atlético Madrid 4-1
2012-13 Bayern Munich over Borussia Dortmund 2-1
2011-12 Chelsea over Bayern Munich 1-1 (4–3 pens)
2010-11 Barcelona over Manchester United 3-1
2009-10 Inter over Bayern Munich 2-0
2008-09 Barcelona over Manchester United 2-0
2007-08 Manchester United over Chelsea 1-1 (6–5 pens)
2006-07 Milan over Liverpool 2-1
2005-06 Barcelona over Arsenal 2-1
2004-05 Liverpool over Milan 3-3
2003-04 Porto over Monaco 3-0
2002-03 Milan over Juventus 0-0
2001-02 Real Madrid over Bayer Leverkusen 2-1
2000-01 Bayern Munich over Valencia 1-1
1999-00 Real Madrid over Valencia 3-0
1998-99 Manchester United over Bayern Munich 2-1
1997-98 Real Madrid over Juventus 1-0
1996-97 Borussia Dortmund over Juventus 3-1
1995-96 Juventus over Ajax 1-1
1994-95 Ajax over Milan 1-0
1993-94 Milan over Barcelona 4-0
1992-93 Marseille over Milan 1-0
1991/92 Barcelona over Sampdoria 1-0 (a.e.t.)
1990/91 Red Star Belgrade over Marseille 0-0 (5-3 pens)
1989/90 Milan over Benfica 1-0
1988/89 Milan over Steaua Bucharest 4-0
1987/88 PSV Eindhoven over Benfica 0-0 (6-5 pens)
1986/87 Porto over Bayern Munich 2-1
1985/86 Steaua Bucharest over Barcelona 0-0 (2-0 pens)
1984/85 Juventus over Liverpool 1-0
1983/84 Liverpool over Roma 1-1 (4-2 pens)
1982/83 Hamburg over Juventus 1-0
1981/82 Aston Villa over Bayern Munich 1-0
1980/81 Liverpool over Real Madrid 1-0
1979/80 Nottingham Forest over Hamburg 1-0
1978/79 Nottingham Forest over Malmo 1-0
1977/78 Liverpool over Club Brugge 1-0
1976/77 Liverpool over Borussia Monchengladbach 3-1
1975/76 Bayern Munich over Saint-Etienne 1-0
1974/75 Bayern Munich over Leeds United 2-0
1973/74 Bayern Munich over Atletico Madrid 4-0 (replay)
1972/73 Ajax over Juventus 1-0
1971/72 Ajax over Inter 2-0
1970/71 Ajax over Panathinaikos 2-0
1969/70 Feyenoord over Celtic 2-1 (a.e.t.)
1968/69 Milan over Ajax 4-1
1967/68 Manchester United over Benfica 4-1 (a.e.t.)
1966/67 Celtic over Inter 2-1
1965/66 Real Madrid over Partizan 2-1
1964/65 Inter over Benfica 1-0
1963/64 Inter over Real Madrid 3-1
1962/63 Milan over Benfica 2-1
1961/62 Benfica over Real Madrid 5-3
1960/61 Benfica over Barcelona 3-2
1959/60 Real Madrid over Eintracht Frankfurt 7-3
1958/59 Real Madrid over Reims 2-0
1957/58 Real Madrid over Milan 3-2 (a.e.t.)
1956/57 Real Madrid over Fiorentina 2-0
1955/56 Real Madrid over Reims 4-3

Champions League history

The European Cup was launched in 1955 with 16 participants from around Europe. Real Madrid staked their claim to the first five tournament championships. It took

The Cup grew in size and prestige over the years and it was officially rebranded as the UEFA Champions League in 1992.

Denise T. Jones

Denise T. Jones is a passionate sports enthusiast with a knack for capturing the electrifying essence of the sporting world. As a dedicated sports news writer for, Denise brings her unparalleled love for sports and her adept storytelling skills to deliver captivating and insightful content to readers worldwide. With a keen eye for detail and a deep understanding of various sports disciplines, Denise ensures that her articles provide comprehensive coverage of the latest events, matches, and developments in the sports realm. Whether it's the thrill of the game-winning goal, the drama of a nail-biting finish, or the heartwarming stories of triumph against all odds, Denise encapsulates it all with eloquence and precision. Denise's journey in sports journalism has been marked by her unwavering commitment to accuracy, integrity, and excellence. Her ability to blend statistical analysis with compelling narratives sets her apart as a trusted voice in the industry. From the adrenaline-pumping action on the field to the strategic maneuvers off it, Denise brings every aspect of the sporting world to life through her writing. With a finger on the pulse of the sports scene, Denise T. Jones continues to inspire and inform readers with her dynamic and engaging sports coverage on

Related Articles

Back to top button
Blog - UK Stream TV Pro News - Stream TV Pro World - Stream TV Pro Sports - Stream TV Pro Entertainment - Stream TV Pro Games - Stream TV Pro Real Free Instagram Followers PayPal Gift Card Generator Free Paypal Gift Cards Generator Free Discord Nitro Codes Free Fire Diamond Free Fire Diamonds Generator Clash of Clans Generator Roblox free Robux Free Robux PUBG Mobile Generator Free Robux 8 Ball Pool Brawl Stars Generator Apple Gift Card Best Android Apps, Games, Accessories, and Tips Free V Bucks Generator 2022